Radio controlled Lasers

RCL2The Medway RC Laser Club was formed in 2006 making 2015 the 9th year that radio controlled sailing has taken place as a winter sport for members of Medway YC and other clubs in Kent.  The majority of the members are from MYC with others from Isle of Sheppey and the Thanet Clubs using the winter period to keep their hand in with racing rules and race tactics. The membership of the RC Class is our best to date with 17 members.

We sail on the lake at Barton Point Coastal Park on the Isle of Sheppey, providing us not only with excellent sailing but a very welcoming Cafe with a huge wood burner to warm the chilled sailors halfway through the 10.00 to 12.30 session. We have in previous years been at the No. 2 Basin in Chatham Dockyard but now find the Isle of Sheppey Lake by far the best. Postcode: ME12 2BXRC add

 

RC laser 1

Sailing in 25Knts providing an airing for the “D” rig sail

Racing is around marks providing a mixture of windward leeward courses or a more traditional triangle and loop course configuration. Races are reasonably short with back to back racing (apart for the coffee break at 11.00) and between 10 and 16 races during the morning. Yacht Racing Rules apply and turns are done (sometimes with “Sorry” often the alternative penalty!).

 

We average 11 taking to the water. Big winds offer some spectacular surfing and frustrating moments of difficulty tacking.  Softer breezes below 12 knots and crisp sunny mornings give equally good racing where starting, boat speed, tactics and race planning take you to the front of the fleet.

 

Winter Series

Winter Series at Medway Radio Controlled Laser Club now starts providing close and exciting close racing from now until the end of March 2016. Those not involved in the MYC Autumn Series have already had a few weeks of warm up so add a number from the Autumn Series and from Ramsgate and you have got a recipe for good racing

Month   Date Day Location Meet time Finish
Dec Winter Series 6-Dec Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
13-Dec Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
20-Dec Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
27-Dec Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
Jan 03-Jan Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
10-Jan Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
17-Jan Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
24-Jan Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
31-Jan Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
Feb 07-Feb Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
14-Feb Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
21-Feb Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
28-Feb Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
March 07-Mar Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
14-Mar Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
21-Mar Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30
28-Mar Sunday Barton 10:00 12:30

The racing venue is at Barton Point Coastal Park, Isle of Sheppey.

 

RC L

RCLCome and see us on Sunday mornings to enjoy the cut and thrust of serious racing, all controlled (if it is not too cold) by our Race Officer Fiona .

Contact  Jamie Blair or 07970235422

Barton Point Winter Series 14_15 Final